Rachel Ashwell’s Shabby Chic

I have always admired the designer and stylist Rachel Ashwell. She’s the woman who almost single-handedly put the phrase “Shabby Chic” on the lips and in the homes of women everywhere.

I bought her book when it was first released. It was my go-to design book for years. It wasn’t exactly a leap—my house pretty much felt like this already:

Here it is, a decade and a half later, and this look still appeals to me more than any other. It’s relaxed, easy, quiet, and comfortable. It doesn’t take a lot of thought. And it doesn’t take itself too seriously.

This story appeared in the New York Times one year ago, yet I only stumbled upon it today. Somehow I managed to miss it at the time, so I didn’t realize she was having business troubles.

It’s comforting to know that she is back on her feet. The future sure looks bright for Ms Ashwell. Go Rachel go!

Oh…and she keeps a really great blog.

From "Shabby Chic Interiors" by Rachel Ashwell

Hmmm...Did she start this trend?

 

2 responses to “Rachel Ashwell’s Shabby Chic

  • Heather

    I have to apologize–I’ve never heard of ‘Shabby Chic’ before, nor read any of Rachel Ashwell’s books. But you make it all so very inviting.

    What a beautiful picture of you and your girls. Wow–I love your decorating sense. All the photos from the book are so pretty, too. Thanks for putting this up.

    Heather

  • Erin

    Heather, a precious comment from you, as always.
    Thanks for your kind words about the family photo. The one on my lap is actually a boy, the baby of the family. He was often mistaken for a girl, as we let his gorgeous wavy hair grow long until he went off to kindergarten. I don’t think it impacted him negatively, though. (smile) He just turned 19 a few weeks ago! sigh. Where did the years go….?

Leave a Reply

