A bheil Gàidhlig agaibh?

I have been listening to Celtic (mostly Irish and Scottish) artists for many years, and I am always on the lookout for a new musician or two (or three) to add to my collection. Scottish Gaelic singer Julie Fowlis is one of my recent finds; she is a true songbird, and she impresses me more every time I hear her. Her new weekly program on BBC Radio Scotland is absolutely brilliant. Thank goodness for the BBC’s “listen again” option, as I am rarely at home to hear it live.

I love this video of her singing “Hùg Air A’ Bhonaid Mhòir”. Her voice is gorgeous, and the rapidity with which she sings the lyrics takes one’s breath away!

P.S. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

