Letter to a young idealist

I received an email this morning from a young friend (wise beyond her years) who was lamenting the current economic, as well as political, climate. She wrote:

This is my thought for the day:

I NEVER, in a hundred million years, thought I would
be unusual for liking capitalism.

Based on that alone, I am completely terrified for the
future.

Luckily, though, I trust in God, not in any economic
system.

Here is what I wrote in response:

You are absolutely right.
 
And you’re not unusual in being for capitalism. It’s just that right now, with the economy in the condition it’s in, all the doom mongers are at the forefront.
 
There are MANY pro-capitalism journals and blogs out there that are much more optimistic in tone.
 
I like Glenn Beck a lot. Just for one.
 
There are many others. You’ve just gotta hang out at those places more than you do at the Woe Is Us prognosticators’ places. 
 
Oh yeah. And keep your eyes on God. But you already know that part.
 
That reminds me of something I read yesterday (don’t remember where; dang, I wish I’d saved it) that went something like: “Don’t fix your eyes on every passing train; keep your eyes fixed on the stars.”  For me, “the stars” represent God and His Kingdom; that which is permanent and eternal.
 
Now I am going to have to go and try to track down the originator of the quote so I can copy it word for word and give him credit! (You know me…..it’s all about giving credit where credit is due, eh?)
Leave a Reply

